Super Mario Sunshine – The best 3D Mario game…. In my eyes (Part 2)

Super Mario Sunshine 2

Author: Blake Biehle

This is part 2 of my reasoning for why Super Mario Sunshine is my favorite 3D Mario game. If you want to read part 1, click here. Alright, let’s continue!

Reason number three for why Super Mario Sunshine is my favorite Mario game: The tropical theme. This reason isn’t a very logical one as it is just an opinion. I am a huge sucker for tropical themed games, and this is no exception. There’s just something about the vivid blue oceans, the beaming sun, and gorgeous colors of the coral reef that makes the game that much more enjoyable for me. This aesthetic is ideal in my opinion. Maybe it’s because I used to live in California growing up, or maybe it’s because I’ve always wanted to live by the beach, but this is a big reason why I gush over Super Mario Sunshine all the time.

And finally, my last reason as to why Super Mario Sunshine is my favorite 3D Mario game is the game’s gimmick. Throughout every Mario game there is one huge gimmick that controls how you interact with each level. In Super Mario Galaxy, you had the ability to gravitate around small planets, in Super Mario 3D land, you could transform into a raccoon suit and glide across long gaps, and in Super Mario World you could obtain a cape that allows you to soar to the skies. In Super Mario Sunshine, however, we have my favorite Mario gimmick of all time: A water jetpack (F.L.U.D.D). There are so many creative ways to use F.L.U.D.D, from spraying underneath you to soar into the air briefly, to spraying some water in front of you so you can glide across the ground. There are multiple functions to the mechanism, and I loved discovering new ways to use it. One thing that I love about it, is the management that occurs with this mechanism. You must keep track of how much water you are spraying because you only get a specific amount. F.L.U.D.D must be refilled regularly. Another cool thing about it is the fact that as you progress through the game, you unlock upgrades that further enhance your capabilities with the jetpack. Some of these allow you to fly faster, others may enhance your range. Either way, it opens up new doors to where you can travel in the game, and how you go about doing so.

This concludes my miniseries of why Super Mario Sunshine is my favorite 3D Mario game. What did you guys think? What’s your favorite Mario game? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

