The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Experience so far

breath-of-the-wild-zelda3-1200x625

Author: Blake Biehle

It is finally time. The Nintendo Switch is out, and the new Legend of Zelda game, Breath of the Wild, is playable. Now, obviously, I’ve already started playing it and I must say, it definitely lives up to the hype. If you haven’t heard yet, the reviews for this game are off the wall. It has swept the floor with near perfect scores everywhere. This game in my opinion is pure perfection (so far). I’ve had an amazing experience and cannot wait to dive deeper into the game. I must also say that one of the beauties of this game is the fact that no two people will have the same experience. Since there are no rails in this open-world game, the world is your oyster. For now I’ll share a few things of what I’ve experienced thus far so you guys can have a taste of that sweet Legend of Zelda gameplay potential.

 
SPOILERS AHEAD:

 
After you awaken and recieve all of your equipment, you are given a majestic view of the world ahead. The beauty of this game is that anything you can see in the background is travelable. Invisible walls are a thing of the past. There’s an old man that you can talk to near the entrance that will essentially tell you that you are the chosen one and must defeat Ganondorf. Now this is typical of a Zelda game, but you are given the quest to go and defeat Ganon immediately. You are actually given so much freedom, that you are allowed to straight up fight the final boss if you wanted. Amazing. Now I don’t think this is a good idea because I assume it is very hard, but it is a cool feature nonetheless.
Once I left the beginning tutorial area, I finally was able to explore a little bit more of the massive open world. I was surprised by the amount of detail and creative use of level design with the terrain. For example, say there’s this camp of monsters nearby guarding a chest and you don’t have any melee weapons at your disposal. However, you DO have a bow and a few arrows. Well you’re in luck. A lot of these camps have explosive barrels conveniently placed around the enemies. I’ll let you do the math. Throughout the world you can even find rocks hanging from small cliifs around camps. If pushed in the proper direction, you can usually knock out a majority of the monsters surrounding the treasure.

That’s all I’ll share for now but expect more frequent updates of my experiences!

Leave a Reply

